Rugby Africa Women's Cup

The first opportunity for a team to qualify for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021 through the regional qualification route takes placein Johannesburg, South Africa, from 9-17 August, 2019 at the Rugby Africa Women’s Cup. .

A brand-new competition supported by Societe Generale, the Rugby Africa Women’s Cup is held at the Bosman Stadium in Johannesburg on 9, 13 and 17 August, with the first match-day of the tournament marking National Women’s Day in South Africa.

During the competition, South Africa, Kenya, Madagascar and Uganda play three games each in a round-robin format where the winner will directly qualify for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021.

Women’s international rugby has a new team with Madagascar set to enter the test arena in Johannesburg as they make their play their test match debut against Kenya on day one.

The top seven teams from Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 – New Zealand, England, USA, France, Canada, Australia and Wales – have already secured automatic qualification for the 2021 competition.

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “As the first opportunity to qualify directly through the regional tournaments, the Rugby Africa Women’s Cup signifies a very exciting point in the journey towards Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021. “Introducing these regional tournaments into the qualification pathway for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2021 increases the level of competition in the women’s game and allows us to engage more fans in the game worldwide.”

Bosman stadium, Brakpan, Johannesburg, South Africa
All times local time (GMT+2)

9 August, 2019
Madagascar vs Kenya, KO 13:00
South Africa vs Uganda, KO 15:00

13 August, 2019
Kenya vs Uganda, KO 13:00 
Madagascar vs South Africa, KO: 15:00

17 August, 2019 
Madagascar vs Uganda, KO: 13:00 
South Africa vs Kenya, KO: 15:00

Where to watch:

Follow all the games live streamed via the following link:

Stay up to date on social media by following @RugbyAfrique on Twitter